Nominees for the EPS Teacher of the Year Announced

(Enid, OK) Seventeen teachers from Enid Public Schools have been nominated for the district’s 2020-21 EPS Teacher of the Year.

The 17 teachers were nominated by their colleagues within EPS and a committee will choose the winner to represent EPS at the Oklahoma Teacher of the Year competition next year.

The event will also include the announcement for EPS Support Professional of the Year.

Superintendent Darrell Floyd said in the EPS press release, “We are thankful for their leadership in each of our buildings and I congratulate them on this achievement in representing our schools.”

The winner will be revealed during the EPS Foundation education celebration.

The nominees are:

Shawna Tanner, pre-K, Fowler Early Childhood Center.

Alex Castellanos, second grade, Adams Elementary School.

Karla Johnson, library media specialist, Coolidge Elementary School.

LaShandria Redman, music, Eisenhower Elementary School.

Janet Jones, third grade, Garfield Elementary School.

Amy Ebel, second grade, Glenwood Elementary School.

Tiara Darling, physical education, Hayes Elementary School.

Jami Lewis, fifth grade, Hoover Elementary School.

Michelle Holcomb, first grade, McKinley Elementary School.

Christie Buckner, physical education, Monroe Elementary School.

Leah Simpson, second grade, Prairie View Elementary School.

Alison King, Title I, Taft Elementary School.

Gary Spruill, art, Emerson Middle School.

Kaeli Jantz, math, Longfellow Middle School.

Samantha Cheatham, special education, Waller Middle School.

Lyndsay Watts, ICAP, Enid High School.

Garvin Kent Chesser, virtual learning, Lincoln Academy.