Former Journey Bassist Ross Valory Releases Solo Album


Former Journey bassist Ross Valory has been playing on records since the late 60s, but he finally releases his first solo album ever on Friday, April 12. “All of the Above” features eight songs, including covers of Santana‘s “Incident at Neshabur” and War‘s “Low Rider.” Valory is joined on the set by former Journey bandmate and drummer Steve Smith, Sly & the Family Stone’s Gregg Errico, Santana’s Karl Perazzo, the Doobie Brothers’ Marc Russo, Prairie Prince (the Tubes, Journey, Todd Rundgren), Night Ranger’s Eric Lev and Miles Schon, son of Journey guitarist Neal Schon.

Valory, who also played in the Steve Miller Band, was part of Journey from its inception in 1973 through 1985, then from 1994 to 2020, when he departed after embroiling in a legal battle with Schon and Jonathan Cain. Valory played on 13 of the band’s 15 studio albums.

Valory, who’s already working on a follow-up to “All of the Above,” tells us that his commitment to Journey was one of the things that kept him from making a solo album until now: (audio below)

More Info Here: