John Sebastian Sells Publishing Catalogue

Legendary singer-songwriter John Sebastian is the latest artist to part ways with their publishing catalogue. Sebastian has sold his song interests to AMR Songs (AMR), "a full-service, global independent music publishing, rights management, and catalog marketing company."

According to the announcement, "AMR acquired interest in Sebastian’s entire catalog, including his publishing and artist royalties from perennial hits by the Lovin' Spoonful, including: 'Daydream,' 'Summer In The City,' 'Do You Believe In Magic,' 'Younger Girl,' 'You Didn't Have To Be So Nice,' and 'Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind?,” among others. The catalog also features his 1975 self-penned hit, 'Welcome Back,' the theme to the iconic sitcom Welcome Back Kotter."

During a recent chat with Jeff Burger, John Sebastian recalled the difficulty in the early days when Lovin' Spoonful were desperate to snag a recording contract: ["We were turned down by every record company in New York. I mean, sometimes it was 'Do You Believe In Magic' that the guys were turning down. And we would say, 'See! Of course they don't get it. They want a whole other thing.'"] SOUNDCUE (:16 OC: . . . whole other thing)